PRUNING ROSES…

Tuesday morning shortly after I woke up, I started pruning my Knock-Out roses.  I don’t know if you know much about Knock-Out roses but they are the ultimate in easy-care roses here in East Texas.  This is the “Rose Capital of the World” (Wikipedia) mainly because we have great acid soil that roses adore!  (We produce 20% of the US supply of rose bushes.)  In our community, Knock-Out roses grace many of our highway medians, mall entrances and  spots that want a pretty, low maintenance frontage.   Normally these roses need little pruning or spraying which sets them apart from their more familiar counterparts.  I think they get their name from the fact that they KNOCK themselves OUT by blooming prolifically unless it is freezing.  They thrive in our hot, humid summers that seem interminable.

Back to my point (and I know Christy is begging for me to get to it!) which is that I was pruning my rose bushes because they shoot up in this weather.  I intended to cut them back in early spring so they wouldn’t grow above my front windows but they were covered with buds at the time.  The winter was cruel (by East Texas standards) to many of my plants so there were less flowers than usual this March.  Like a two-year old, I decided to go for immediate gratification and didn’t cut my roses back then.  The flowers were beautiful, especially in light of the fact that my azaleas waited until long after the (mid-March) Azalea Trail to bloom this year!  Now it was time to pay up. 

Here are some thoughts that came to mind as I was snipping those barbed branches in the rising heat and humidity.  How many times do I put off dealing with areas in my life that need pruning?  Because I want to see the pretty rose that is about to bud?  Not a bad thing in itself, but when allowed to continue unchecked, can result in a garden that is out of control and unpleasant to the eyes.

However, the One who decides what work needs to be done in the garden of my heart is much wiser than I am.  He knows when the best timing is for the pruning of which branches.  The tearing out of which weeds.  The extensive reworking of large expanses of my garden.  My job is to run to Christ or at least, cooperate with Him when He is doing the pruning, digging and cutting away.  He is the one in charge of my justification and sanctification and everything else that relates to my soul.  He changes my heart through the sanctification process just as He did before I came to him for salvation in the first place!  He is the all-wise One who knows the beginning from the end.  He knows what needs to be cut out…and when.  What a relief!  One more responsibility I don’t have to carry.  It is God who works in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure.  (Philippians 2:13)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joan Harding
    May 29, 2010 @ 07:03:59

    Wow. Great analogy. Thanks for sharing this Martha. This is the first year I did prune my roses very drastically. And you’re right. They’re looking great!

  2. Rayma
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 17:08:09

    Thanks for sharing this insight…I understand it because I too, have experienced the pruning/weeking surprises!

