WRITING AGAIN AND SERVING…facebook alone doesn’t do it for me.

I’ve gotten the bug and decided I need to write more…partly for the sake of my brain and partly to organize my thoughts.  It is purely for me.  I never had a lot of readers so I’m certainly not doing it for my many readers.  I’ve enjoyed catching up with many friends from the past…way past…on facebook.  That kept me going for awhile…especially when i was working full-time 3-11, five days in a row.  I would come home, take my shower and wind down by reading facebook and catching up with frinds there.  It didn’t take a long time and I could talk to people at ridiculous times of night…because I wasn’t really talking to them.

Now that I am getting a bit more of a life along with work where I can actually think and feel again, I think I want to write a bit more now.  I definitely need to.  This past two months have been quite busy…in a good way.  We have done an amazing amount of painting…some of it in our house.  But we have been able to help some others out as well.  During Ron’s Spring Break, we took a few days to help Steve and Dawn with some painting projects that needed to be done to get their house ready to sell.  I wish we lived closer to our other children so we could help them out more regularly with projects like that.  It is so much fun!  We also were able to help with some painting projects with a group from church for a very good friend.  A whole mob of us descended on her house and did yard work, painting and other miscellaneous work.  We also had time to take breaks and visit with her and her husband as well.  It was a delightful tho’ tiring day.  (A good kind of tired.) 

Shortly after that, we helped our RUF (Reformed University Ministries) family move to their home (also included painting).  We weren’t able to help as much as we had wanted to, but it was so nice to be able to help and see the college students helping as well.  The provision of their larger home was a wonderful answer to prayer over at least two years as their family had outgrown their two bedroom home.   Because of the delay, so many more people had been involved in praying and they had learned so many more lessons that it seemed to make the provision that much more joyful.  It is amazing how God works out things that way!

Now we are at a pause before school ends for Ron (first week in June) and we go to North Carolina to babysit our youngest grandson for a week while his parents are in a required conference (Living in Grace) there.  I know,  it’s a tough job, but someone had to do it!  What can I say?  We’ll just have to endure the hard times:)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patti H
    May 11, 2010 @ 22:16:34

    Glad you’re back!

  2. carolyn
    May 13, 2010 @ 21:55:19

    Martha, I’m enjoying your blog. didnt know Ron was in school?
    how old is your g’son in N.Carolina? My sis lives near Charlotte.

    love, Carolyn

    • martha10
      May 14, 2010 @ 23:25:36

      He has been driving a school bus. Will be done the first week in june. our grandson lives in austin, TX and is 6 mon. old but they will be at a conference in NC that week so that is where we will be “babysitting” so his nursing mom can go to the seminars she has to attend.

